The New Jersey Boating Safety Education Certificate (commonly known as the New Jersey boating license) is proof that a boater has successfully completed a boating safety course and a requirement for operating a motorized boat in the Garden State. All persons who wish to operate a motorized vessel, including a personal watercraft, must possess a boating safety education certificate. (This requirement does not apply to kayaks, canoes or unpowered boats.)
With NJ Free Fishing days being held on the weekend of June 11 and 12, there were some problems with PA fisherman putting their boats into New Jersey waters. PA residents including many from the Lehigh Valley were unaware of the fact that they needed a boat safety education certificate even if they were not a New Jersey resident.
Out-of-state residents are not exempt from the education requirement; however, the law states that an out-of-State resident who is at least 16 years of age and who will be in this State for less than 90 days may operate a power vessel on the waters of the State of New Jersey if they possess a boat safety certificate issued by their state of residence, or if they possess written proof of successful completion of a boat safety course approved by another state, the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (N.A.S.B.L.A.) or the United States Coast Guard.
The following is a brief summary of rules for a New Jersey boating license:
Anyone operating a motorized vessel is required to have a New Jersey Boating Safety Certificate after June 1, 2009, regardless of age.
As of June 1, 2009, operators must meet these age and education requirements in order to operate a motorized vessel.
- A person less than 13 years of age may not operate a motorized vessel.
- A person under the age of 16 may not operate a PWC.
- A person 13 through 15 years of age may operate a vessel powered by an electric motor or vessels 12 feet or longer and powered by a motor less than 10 horsepower only if he or she has successfully passed a boating safety education course approved by the New Jersey State Police.
- A person 16 years old or older may operate a motorized vessel if they have successfully completed an approved boating safety course.
A Boating Safety Education Certificate issued by the New Jersey State Police as well as photographic identification, such as a driver’s license, must be carried on board by all persons required to have passed a state-approved boating safety education course.
Laws and regulations concerning operating a personal watercraft or vessel, required equipment, vessel registration and much more are covered in the online course in Unit 4: The Legal Requirements of Boating.
To get the boater education card you can study over the Internet using the online boating safety course. Once you have completed the course online and passed each unit quiz, you may print a course completion certificate from your computer. The certificate will serve as your admission ticket for the state-required In-Person Exam. Upon completing and passing the In-Person Exam, you will be issued a Boating Safety Education Certificate from the New Jersey State Police.
The New Jersey online safe boating course is the official course developed specifically for the New Jersey State Police. All the required safe boating course material to get your boater education certificate is available online.
For more information about the New Jersey boater education certificate:
- Read Frequently Asked Questions about the New Jersey boater’s license;
- Contact the New Jersey State Police;
- Contact Boat Ed, to answer any of your questions about the New Jersey boater’s license or boating license requirements in other states.
Pennsylvania also requires a boating safety education certificate (commonly known as a Pennsylvania boating license) as proof that a boater has successfully completed a boating safety course. The method of achieving the boating license and the rules are slightly different from New Jersey’s requirements.
PA boating safety education certificates are required of the following operators:
- Persons born on or after January 1, 1982, may not operate boats powered by a motor greater than 25 hp unless they have in their possession a boating safety education certificate.
- Residents of other states who were born on or after January 1, 1982, and operate on Pennsylvania waters for 60 days or less are exempt if they hold a boating safety certificate issued by their home state.
- Anyone operating a PWC on Pennsylvania public waters must have in their possession a boating safety education certificate.
Operators who are required to have a boating safety education certificate must carry it on board the vessel.
To get the boater education card you can study over the Internet using the online boating safety course. Once you have successfully completed the course online and the Final Exam, you may print a temporary course completion certificate from your computer. Your permanent Pennsylvania boating safety education certificate will be mailed to your home within 4-6 weeks.
For more information about the Pennsylvania boating safety education certificate:
- Read Frequently Asked Questions about the Pennsylvania boater’s license;
- Contact the Pennsylvania Fish & Boat Commission;
- Contact Boat Ed, to answer any of your questions about the Pennsylvania boater’s license.